Colorado’s Speeding Laws and Penalties

By March 16, 2021Bail Bonds, News
Colorado's Speeding Laws and Penalties

In Colorado, there are three types of speeding laws: basic, presumed, and absolute. The Colorado speeding laws penalties also depend on several factors such as the gravity of the offense, how much you overspeed, or any additional violation aside from overspeeding. Some speeding violations have jail time, but you can easily seek help from a 24 hour bondsman

Basic Speeding Law

With basic speed laws, it is illegal to drive at “a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard for the actual and potential hazards then existing.” The law expects the motorist to drive at a safe speed based on the current circumstances. The court considered several factors to decide if the person was driving at a safe speed: These factors are:

  • The weather
  • The amount of traffic
  • The number of pedestrians in the area
  • The aspect of the road (curvy or narrow)
  • The type of road (crossing, intersection, etc.)

Presumed Speeding Law

It is also known as prima facie or presumptive law. The speed limits are the “presumption” safe speed under different circumstances. However, when you exceed the presumed speed limits, it doesn’t necessarily mean that you already violated the law. You still have the chance to prove in court that your driving speed was safe. If you were able to prove it, the judge might find you not guilty.

Colorado’s presumed speed limits, unless otherwise posted, are:

  • Narrow, winding mountain highways or blind curves: 25 mph
  • Business districts: 25 mph
  • Residential districts: 35 mph
  • Open mountain highways: 45 mph
  • Open state highways: 55 mph
  • Surfaced, four-lane interstate highways: 65 mph 

Absolute Speed Limits

When you’ve driven faster than the absolute speed limit in Colorado, you violated the law. Motorists are not allowed to drive faster than:

  • Any highways: 75 mph
  • Driving a low-powered scooter: 45 mph

Traffic Infraction Vs. Criminal Traffic Offense

The penalty for a speeding violation depends on the kind of speeding ticket you’ll receive. Lesser kinds of speeding violation gets an infraction while a greater kind of speeding violation receives a criminal traffic offense. 

  • Infraction. It is considered a minor traffic offense that has consequences of fines, surcharges, and sometimes DMV points in your driving records but no jail time. Once you accumulate too many points for a period of 12 to 24 months, your license will be suspended. 
  • Criminal Traffic Offense. This type of traffic offense can be classified as either misdemeanor or felony. The violator may face criminal charges plus higher fees and fines. If you get this kind of traffic offense, you need to go to court to defend yourself, and you may need to hire a 24 hour bail bondsman to get temporary freedom.

Speeding Penalties in Colorado

The penalties for overspeeding is usually based on the number of exceeded miles per hour the violator had committed. A driver who was overspeeding 24 miles per hour or less will incite a Class A infraction.  

  • 1 to 4 mph over the limit. $30 fine and $6 surcharge.
  • 5 to 9 mph over the limit. $70 fine, $10 surcharge, and 1 DMV point.
  • 10 to 19 mph over the limit. $135 fine, $16 surcharge, and 4 DMV points.
  • 20 to 24 mph over the limit. $200 fine, $32 surcharge, and 6 DMV points. 

Also, these circumstances can incur a Class A infraction:

  • Driving too fast given the road conditions. $100 fine, $10 surcharge, and 3 DMV points.
  • Exceeding a prudent speed on a bridge. $30 fine, $6 surcharge, and 3 DMV points. 

A motorist who was driving at 25 miles per hour or more over the reasonable and prudent speed, over the maximum lawful speed of 75 mph, is guilty of Class 2 traffic misdemeanor. It means a $150 to $300 fine and/or 10 to 90 days in prison. The violator can also incur DMV points of 6 if less than 40 mph over the limit or 12 if 40 mph or more.

Moreover, this violation can escalate to a Class 1 traffic misdemeanor if the motorist was driving at 25 mph or more in a construction zone. The penalty is a $300 to $1,000 fine and/or ten days to 1 year in prison. The offender can also get 6 DMV points if less than 40 mph over the limit or 12 if 40 mph or more over the limit. 

Reckless Driving, DUI, and DWAI

Bear in mind that Colorado’s traffic violation may be escalated to a higher degree if there are other violations aside from speeding violations, such as reckless driving, DUI, and DWAI. If you are charged with these offenses, immediately seek legal advice and search on your phone for “the best defense lawyer and 24 hour bail bonds.”

  • Reckless Driving. It is defined as driving with “a wanton or a willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.” This violation is a class 2 traffic misdemeanor. The penalties of reckless driving still depend on the circumstances, but the possible punishments are 10 to 90 days in prison and/or a $150 to $300 fine for the first offense. Ten days to 6 months in prison and/or a $50 to $1,000 fine for the repeat offense. A reckless driving conviction can also acquire an additional eight DMV points to the offender’s driving records, increased insurance rate, and a license suspension. If reckless driving results in another person’s death, the offender may face vehicular homicide criminal charges. 
  • DUI or Driving Under the Influence of alcohol or drugs. Once a police officer pulls you over due to your speeding violation, you may be asked to take a BAC test. And if the BAC test result is 0.80% or higher, you will face a DUI offense. A first-time offender will be punished with five days to 1 year in jail, a $600 to $1,000 fine, 48 to 96 hours of community service, driver’s license suspension of up to 9 months. 
  • DWAI or Driving While Ability Impaired from alcohol or drugs. If your BAC result is less than 0.80 % but at least 0.50%, you will be charged with a DWAI offense. A first-time offender will be punished 2 to 180 days in jail, $200 to $500 fine, 24 to 48 hours community service, and 8 DMV points.

Conclusion

The consequences of speeding violations can range from petty to a more serious offense, especially if there are casualties and drugs involved. So, if you face a speeding ticket, it is better to seek professional advice to secure your freedom by searching for a “24 hour bondsman near me” on your phone. Then Reds Anytime Bail Bonds will surely pop up to your screen to offer 24 hour bail bonds near me. Call them at 303-623-2245.