What Gun Crimes Are Punishable Under Colorado Law?

image of a gun

Legally, there are certain conditions that you need to meet before carrying a firearm in Colorado. Otherwise, you will be facing criminal charges in court. Luckily, you can obtain pretrial release with the help of a professional bondsman Denver if ever you are caught violating the Colorado gun law.

Aside from crimes that can be performed with a firearm such as assault, homicide, and robbery, here is the list of some of the other possible gun crimes and offenses in Colorado.

Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon

A weapon will be considered concealed if it is placed out of sight and is not apparent by ordinary observation. Moreover, if the weapon is partially exposed, it will not be regarded as a concealed weapon. Generally, you will be allowed to carry a concealed weapon in certain situations. Some instances are the following; if you are on your property, traveling using a private automobile, have a permit to carry, are going to a legitimate fishing/hunting trip, you are a peace officer, or have a knife with a blade less than 3 1/2” long. 

Unlawfully carrying a weapon on school grounds

If you are caught carrying a knife, firearms, or other weapons on school premises, you will be facing a felony case under Colorado law. Illegal possession of a deadly weapon on school grounds will have consequences such as 1 to 1 ½ years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000. Afterward, you will be subject to Denver bail hearing to post bail. 

Prohibited use of firearms and other deadly weapons

A first-time violator can be charged with a misdemeanor with up to $1,000 penalty and up to 12 months of jail time. In this case, it is still is easy to post a Denver bail and get out of prison with the help of a bondsman in Denver. However, if you have a previous case concerning illegal gun possession or use within five years, it will increase into a felony with $100,000 fine and up to three years of imprisonment. 

Use of stun guns

It is illegal in Colorado to use a stun gun that will temporarily immobilize a person. The unlawful use of stun guns is categorized as a class 5 felony in Colorado. You don’t have to necessarily discharge or shoot the stun gun for you to violate this law. By facilitating the commission of a criminal offense with a gun stun, you can be charged with a more serious offense. 

Illegally discharge of a firearm

You will be charged a felony case if you knowingly and recklessly discharge a firearm in any occupied dwelling or motor vehicle. The punishment would be as severe as three years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. 

Possession of handguns by juvenile

With a few exceptions, you must be at least 18 years old to possess a gun. A first-time offense is considered a class 2 misdemeanor. At the same time, a second or subsequent offender will face Colorado class 5 felony charge with up to seven years in a Colorado Department of Youth Corrections.

Do you need bail bonds and related advice or assistance for gun crimes in Colorado? Contact Red’s Anytime Bail Bonds today! Call us at 303-623-2245.